Lucian Freud

Man with a Feather (self portrait) 1943.

Girl with a Kitten (portrait of his first wife Kitty) 1947.

I’ve never been a fan of Lucian Freud’s work, but James Brown (artist at Elphick’s) suggested I watch a recent documentary ‘Painted Life’, aired on the BBC last weekend. I found the programme fascinating and enjoyed learning more about his life and work. I’m not sure I warmed to him as a person, or liked his work any more but my curiosity prompted me to visit the National Portrait to see Lucian Freud Portraits. I’m still not a fan, although I do really love his early work which he produced in his early 20’s, above are two of my favourites from the show.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

