Printing at the Prince’s Drawing School

etch1(web)Inked up plate, ready for polishing.

etch2(web)Polished copper plate ready to print ‘Winter’ etching.

etch3(web)Polished copper plate in preparation to print ‘Summer’ etching.

etch5(web)Copper printing plate (left), ‘Spring’ etching from plate (right).

etch7(web)Sharon Elphick ‘Autumn’ etching.

On Friday I went to the ‘drop in’ etching class at the Prince’s Drawing School in Shoreditch. A customer had ordered the full set of my seasonal ‘Tree’ etchings, so I had the pleasure of spending the day printing in the basement of Charlotte Road. I love the drawing school and I’ve been going there on and off since 2008. It’s always really nice to see what other people are working on, the artist Sam Marshall was printing there too, check out her work here.

It’s a real labour of love, especially if you’re a perfectionist like me! I’m pleased to say that I printed one of each season, and thought I’d share some photo’s of the process.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment